Creative Process, Sleep Over Success, and Lavender Bath

Today I am thankful for:

1. Creative Process. When I was 19, I had the honor of hearing a minister’s wife speak about what it takes to be a minister’s wife. The room was so packed I found a seat on the stairs and took vigorous notes. I wanted to be the best minister’s girlfriend I could be (since my husband and I were still dating). Unfortunately, I can no longer remember her name, but her message of support and encouragement are still with me. Ever since that time, I wanted to participate in some kind of ministry for women who find themselves married to ministry. I thought my efforts might take the possible form of an article, book, or another lecture. But, this week, I was in for a wonderful creative surprise. I have partnered with five amazing women to create a site, Glass House, that offers support to women and their families. My fellow contributors include therapists, minister’s wives and women in the ministry. It is still very much a work in progress! We are giving ourselves a year to gage how receptive people are to this need. I love that God is allowing me to live out my passion and creative energies! Let the adventure begin.

2. A sleep-over success. My son smiled through sleepy eyes and gave me a huge hug as I asked him about the time with his friends. It is a pleasure to see joy in the face of my child. Savor.

3. Lavender Bath. I treated myself to some lavender oil for an evening bath. It is just now cooling off enough to take a relaxing evening bath. I think I may just have to light some candles and let my mind wander. Blessed.

What are you thankful for today?

One thought on “Creative Process, Sleep Over Success, and Lavender Bath

  1. I love, love, love the whole idea/purpose of your Glass House blog. I’ve always thought that ministers’ wives had a tough role. I have enough trouble meeting/managing all the expectations of my family members, which are not always reasonable at the time. I can only imagine what it’s like to live with a whole congregation of different “expecters.” We always mean the best, even when we’re at our worst… but, YIKES!

Leave a Reply

